The Trilogy

To be concluded…


A Time of Gifts

Patrick Leigh Fermor. London: John Murray, 1977

This is the first, and most famous, volume of the trilogy, following the Rhine through the Netherlands and Germany, before meeting the Danube in Bavaria and heading into Austria, and onto Hungary, with a detour to Prague.


Between the Woods and the Water

Patrick Leigh Fermor. London: John Murray, 1986

This volume continues to walk through Hungary and Romania


The Broken Road: From the Iron Gates to Mount Athos

Patrick Leigh Fermor. Artemis Cooper and Colin Thubron, Eds. London: John Murray, 2013

The posthumous final volume, concluding the walk through Romania to Istanbul, then onto Mount Athos, in Greece.